Audio Evaluation (5.3.1)

For this task I was asked to choose out of a selection of clips from films and create foley sound to sync up with the video. My initial ideas and thoughts was to do some research into the sounds that I thought was hard to see who past foley artists have created them. As I want to pursue editing, controlling sound levels would be important. Before I started this project I lacked knowledge in sound recording however I knew the basic controls of a marrantz kit.

One of the main tasks I had  to complete was to learn how to effectively use Audition. For this task I was given a script of a an event on a space station and had to create a soundscape on Audition using sounds from Freesounds.com. This allowed me to experiment with and learn Audition and its various tools. I also created the sound of an exam hall in the same way. We also used reverb when practicing before as it allows us to change the environmental surroundings around the Foley sounds. After I learnt about creating and recording foley sounds and its use in film. I researched microphones and which type to use for certain sounds I want to create. This was found to be critical when recording high quality audio. Planning documents were a large part of my work. One of them was my schedule, which made it  easier to complete my work on time and allowed me to become more efficient. This was because I knew what I needed to complete on each day and what I’d need to complete. The other planning documents that helped me was my spotting sheet and cue sheet. The spotting sheet was so I knew what sounds I needed to create and when they were to be added in the film. I could then use my cue sheet so I know how I am going to create each individual sound.

After all the practice I did in Audition I found editing my foley sounds similar to when editing using premiere, there is just more creative freeedom when using Audition in what I could do with the sound. I believe I created a successful piece of foley work. The sounds synced up relatively well and seem realistic when they play in time with the visuals of the film. However, I think there are some sounds that I could have added throughout that could have added a certain mood I wanted the audience to feel. I think my main use of the Shotgun microphone was the correct choice as there was little unwanted back round sound.

“I liked the use sounds used for the footsteps and running, they synced up effectively. Could have used a different song however it goes along with the dancers rhythm surprisingly well’ – Kammie

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑