Post 5 Evaluation

Introduction

We were told to make a film introduction based around the seven deadly sins. I had originally planned to do Greed or Lust as I felt I had more film ideas for them than the other sins. Title sequences are used and important important in a film as they are one of the first things that the audience see in a film. They help set the mood of the film and portray to the audience the sort of film they are going to watch. In many opening sequences there is often a highlight on editing, effects and sound as some may be fast paced which goes along with a song. The way that the title appears on screen is also important, as this should also fit with the films tone, so quality effects are also crucial. If I include good editing and effects in my project it could demonstrate to potential employers that I have the skills in both fields to be able to complete the task successfully if they were to employ me. I had experience in both editing (premiere pro) and effects (Adobe after effects),I feel I was better at premiere pro and thats why I focused on that in my title sequence.

Researching the seven deadly sins taught me out the sins and acts associated with each of them. It also narrowed down for me which ones I was interested in doing as well as some I didn’t want to.

I think my storyboard was the most useful thing to me when I made my intro, as it heavily speed up the production process. It gave me the freedom to fully decide the shots I wanted and in what order they were to be in, I could also remove or move certain shots if I thought they were wrong. They also helped me decide which shots I would be able to film myself and the footage I would have to get off the internet. Most of the shots I drew discussed shot sizes I would use which, again, decreased the time I would spend filming. However I didn’t include all the shots I had in my storyboard and I added some more, this is because some shots may have been to difficult to shoot or too time consuming. The added shots were because I may have had another idea after I made the storyboard.

The prototypes I made was mainly practice for me too test out the editing techniques, for example the text transition and cloning the actor in shot.

If I were to do it again I would try to use Adobe After Effects in my intro more to demonstrate that I have the ability to use it. It would also probably improve the quality of the video. Another improvement I could have made would be too try and make the colors more consistent throughout, as I felt that the lighting and colours were too random during the intro. As it constantly switched between light and dark which is not what I intended originally but due to the clips I downloaded online it made it difficult for me, so to improve it I would try to find footage with similar light to the footage I recorded.

I had used premiere pro quite a lot previously so I found it relatively simple to use and navigate. However I did struggle to use after effects, that is why I didn’t really use it in the film. I watched a few tutorials on it but found it easier and less time consuming to not include it. For next time I would need to use it more to gain more experience in its use.

My final video was similar too what I set out to make so in that sense it was a success but I wouldn’t say it was particularly professional looking. I would say the highlight of the video was the editing, it went with the soundtrack and used a few difficult techniques. The song I used was appropriate to what was going on, on screen. I could have tried to make more of a story in the film as it could have been perceived to be a random collection of images and didn’t really focus clearly on a particular sin. I may have included too many shots with too much of a variety, this meant there was a lack of understandable and made it appear as more of a typical music video instead of a film intro.

The main positive comment I received was about the editing, I spent far more time on editing than anything else as I felt from the start that it was going to be the most important part of my intro, as I wanted it to be relatively high speed, contain a variety of shots and be based around the soundtrack. One criticism I received was about the quality of footage I got, this was because I made a mistake when exporting the video from Premiere Pro. Some thought I got too much from online footage instead of recording it, which i would agree with, however due to the planned content it would have been almost impossible for some shots.

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑